Street of Sorrows -

Mary King's Close

 

You see them everywhere - these 'Closes'. Somehow we pass them all the time. 'Old Fishmarket Close' for example. No doubt, fish was transported there in former times, quite a usual passage. Like all the others... or isn't it? They do look quite harmless indeed. 

Fishmarket Close

Put out both arms - you may get stuck. 

Close

Medieval Edinburgh had hundreds of these closes. Houses with up to twelve storeys closed out the daylight. People were living in a crammed way, the gentle folk in the upper houses, downstairs were small shops, pubs, and brothels and those of course dwelled there who had no lodgings. 

Many of these Closes - the name originates in the fact that they were closed at night - have a gruesome history. Especially Mary King's Close: Here people were living together with the cattle which conveniently also was slaughtered on site. All this between filth and litter, excrements, and rats. Small wonder that the pestilences found their victims easily. 

First we walk along High Street to the entrance of the "City beneath the City" as it was called - or the "Pestilence Road". For a long time this close was locked. In 1994 it was opened again for the first time. Probably this close is the most frightening place of the whole town. 

In the 17th century,  Mary King was a rather successful business woman, daughter of the wealthy solicitor Alexander King. She has to do nothing with Queen Mary although in the anteroom the unpopular acid drops can be bought as well as books about Mary Queen of Scots. 

Dokto

The bubonic plague is highly infectious, transmitted by flees and rats-  Against the Plague neither a raven masks helped nor the leathern coat the doctors were wearing during their battle against the pestilence. 

Beside Mary King's Close, by the way, a government building is situated, parts of the former Pestilence City are beneath it and as the Brits are a little paranoid as to this, in the cellar two storeys deeper photographing is not permitted. 

Mary King's Close

In those days there was of course no tap water or toilets.  Twice a day the excrements were poured into the close. Those living down there were just in bad luck. 

Die Peststadt

For many months the Plague was raging, more than half of the population died. Mary King's Close was said to be the cause of it and consequently the close was bricked up at both sides. With or without its inhabitants - that is not really certain. It is said however that many people were walled in and died a wretched death so that their souls found no peace - up to this day they are haunting the remains of Mary King's Close. 

There is another story about a father stricken by the Plague who returned into the "City beneath the City" to say farewell to his family. It was the death sentence for all of them. 

The rooms are small, reminding of cattle sheds. We enter a tiny room, Annie's Room. Any number of dolls, teddies and the like can be found, left by visitors so that little Annie is not frightened after her parents disappeared during the time of the Plague. 

Somewhat relieved, we leave this place of history behind us. Another 18 persons who were with us, appear quite quiet and depressed. Do many of these dead really still haunt the place? 

At any rate, this ghost crosses our path on our way home.

Die Stadt unter der Stadt -

Mary King's Close

 

Überall sieht man sie - diese 'Close'. Irgendwie laufen wir ständig an ihnen vorbei. Zum Beispiel 'Old Fishmarket Close'. Klar, dort wurden früher Fische transportiert, ein ganz normaler Gang also. So wie alle anderen.... oder? Sie sehen doch eigentlich ganz harmlos aus.

Fishmarket Close

Wenn man die Arme austreckt, kann man schon stecken bleiben...

Close

Im mittelalterlichen Edinburgh gab es Hunderte solcher Gassen. Bis zu zwölf Stockwerke hohe Häuser verdeckten das Tageslicht. Die Menschen lebten auf engstem Raum. in den oberen Häusern wohnten die feineren Leute, unten waren kleine Geschäfte, Pubs und Bordelle und natürlich die, die keine Unterkunft hatten.

Viele dieser 'Close' - der Name stammt daher, weil sie nachts geschlossen waren (closed at night) besitzen eine grauenhafte Vergangenheit. Insbesondere das Mary King's Close. Hier lebten die Menschen zusammen mit dem Vieh, das praktischerweise gleich an Ort und Stelle geschlachtet wurde. Und das zwischen Dreck und Abfällen, Exkrementen und Ratten. Kein Wunder, dass hier die Pest ihre Opfer fand....

Highstreet Edinburgh

Zunächst geht es durch die High Street bis zum Eingang der "Stadt unter der Stadt" wie sie genannt wurde oder auch die "Peststraße". Lange Zeit war diese Gasse verschlossen. 1994 wurde sie erstmals wieder geöffnet. Dieser Close ist wohl der furchterregendste Platz in der ganzen Stadt.

Mary King war eine recht erfolgreiche Geschäftsfrau im 17. Jahrhundert, Tochter des reichen Advokaten Alexander King. Sie hat nichts mit Queen Mary zu tun, obwohl es im Vorraum neben unbeliebten sauren Drops auch Bücher über Queen Mary, die Königin der Schotten, zu kaufen gibt.

Doktor

Die Pest (lateinisch pestis ‚Seuche‘) ist eine hochgradig ansteckende Infektionskrankheit, die dürch Flöhe und
Ratten übertragen wird. Gegen die Pest half auch weder eine Rabenmaske noch der lederne Umhang, den die Ärzte bei ihrem Kampf gegen die Pest trugen.

Neben Mary King's Close steht übrigens ein Regierungsgebäude. Teile der ehemaligen Peststadt befinden sich darunter und da die Briten ein wenig paranoid sind, darf in dem zwei Stockwerke tiefen Keller leider nicht photographiert werden.

Mary King's Close

In dieser Stadt gab es natürlich noch kein fließendes Wasser und keine Toiletten. Zweimal täglich wurden die Exkremente in den Close geschüttet. Wer unten in der Gasse lebte, hatte eben Pech gehabt.

Die Peststadt

Über viele Monate wütete die Pest, mehr als die Hälfte der Einwohner starben. Als Ursache wurde das Mary Kings Close gesehen und daraufhin wurde die Gasse an beiden Enden zugemauert. Ob mit ihnen die Bewohner ist nicht so ganz klar. Es heißt aber, dass viele eingemauert wurden und elendig starben, so dass ihre Seelen keine Ruhe fanden - sie spuken sie bis heute in den Resten von Mary Kings Close.

Auch wird von einem Vater berichtet, der die Pest hatte und der in die"Stadt unter der Stadt" zurückkehrte, um sich von seiner Familie zu verabschieden. Das Todesurteil für alle.

Die Raume sind winzig, sie erinnern an Viehställe. Wir kommen in einen winzigen Raum, Annie's Room. Jede Menge Puppen, Teddies und ähnliches liegt hier. Hinterlassen von Besuchern, damit sich die kleine Annie nicht fürchtet, nachdem ihre Eltern während der Zeit des Schwarzen Todes verschwanden.

Wir sind irgendwie erleichtert, als wir diesen Ort der Geschichte hinter uns lassen. Auch die 18 anderen Personen, die mit uns hinabgestiegen sind, wirken recht schweigsam und bedrückt. Ob wirklich noch viele dieser Toten als Geister ihr Unwesen treiben?

Auf dem Heimweg jedenfalls läuft uns einer dieser Geister über den Weg!

Geist